PICS Faculty and Student Recognition

PICS faculty members and students have won a number of awards and honors during the 2019 semester.

  • The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Board of Governors unanimously selected Portonovo Ayyaswamy, Professor Emeritus Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics (MEAM), as an Honorary Member of ASME.

In news regarding PICS students:

  • Radhakrishnan lab member Alokendra Ghosh (PhD student) presented at the prestigious Gordon on conference for physics of cancer and also won two other travel awards from NIH to present his work at National meetings
  • Former Radhakrishnan lab member Jeremy Purvis received tenure and was promoted to associate professor at UNC Chapel Hill 
  • Radhakrishnan Lab member Ololade Fatunmbi (postdoc) chaired the session on Membranes and Channels in the 63rd Annual Biophysical Society meeting.
  • Rob Riggleman lab member Robert Ivancic had a paper accepted in Soft Matter titled, “Identifying structural signatures of shear banding in model polymer nanopillars.”
  • Jennifer Phillips-Cremins lab member, Thomas Gilgenast’s paper on statistical methods to call loops in 5C data is now out in Cell Systems.
  • Jennifer Phillips-Cremins lab member,  Linda Zhou received a F31 NIH grant.